National Poetry Day: The Moon (I know it’s terribly cliche)

You hang in the sky, as a shimmering light
Hidden during the day, but in great view at night
But even then, you make us wait to see your face
And reveal yourself once, from the vast cloak of space

You seem so close and yet you’re nowhere near
But I’ll keep watching; out the window I’ll peer
To see you there, taunting every night
I know I can’t reach you, though try I might

You make me feel safe, as I walk alone
Through the dark, cold streets, to my home
Well, it’s daytime now, but I’ll see you soon
The light in the darkness, my friend, the Moon.

Let me know what you think

