National Poetry Day: From The First Love

A bit of context for this one is needed. This is a poem I wrote during my short time at college, it was a task set by my English lecturer and it’s a reply to the poem ‘First Love’ by John Clare. His is a wonderful poem and I recommend you read it. Anyway, here is the inferior reply to a much superior poem.

I look, he’s there
I turn, a stare
A stare that pierces my very soul
His name? It’s John!
I blink, he’s gone
But his shadow lingers, dark as coal

I walk, I see
A rose, for me?
It has been left there for me to meet
It began, a seed
The thorns, I bleed
And yet, the sentiment is so sweet

I wander, alone
This rose, my own
The flower he left, only for me
He’s waited, a while
He’s red, I smile
It’s true love he feels, and now, I see.

Let me know what you think

