The Hunt For My Childhood: Games of the Past

Over the past few months I have been toying with the idea of searching for all of the consoles I once owned in the past and getting every single one and the games I loved to play the most. Up until now I had been unable to do this due to my lack of money. However my search began yesterday afternoon…

The first console on my list is the Nintendo Gamecube purely because it is the platform that brought my favourite game, Super Mario Sunshine. So yesterday I purchased said game online and am currently awaiting it’s delivery. I also have the console on it’s way from the most unlikeliest of people, my Grandad. He just happens to have one lying around in his house and has very kindly said I can have it.

The reason why I want to gather together all the old consoles I used to play is because those games made my childhood great. I felt genuine happiness when playing these games. Some may say, ‘Why not just play them on an emulator?’ but it’s not the same. I would much rather hold a Gameboy in my hand and buy countless batteries rather than tapping on a keyboard to fight the Pokemon League.

My list at the moment isn’t that long, I’m focusing on only my favourites for the time being, so the list currently looks like this:

Nintendo GameCube: Super Mario Sunshine, Pokemon Coliseum, Phantasy Star Online, Mario Kart Double Dash, Sonic Battle Adventure 2, Spiderman.

Sony Playstation 2: GTA: San Andreas, Burnout 3.

Sega Dreamcast: Sonic

Sony Playstation 1: Mortal Kombat, Crash Bandicoot, Spyro the Dragon, Digimon World and Digimon World 3.

Nintendo Gameboy/Gameboy Colour: Pokemon Blue, Red and Yellow. Legend of Zelda: Oracle of Time.

Nintendo Gameboy Advance: Final Fantasy Tactics, Onimusha Tactics (I have this one already :D), Fire Emblem, Yu-Gi-Oh: Reshef of Destruction and Yoshi’s Island.

So that’s how the list currently stands. These are my favourite consoles and games that are a must have for me. Let’s see if I can get them all 😀

 

 

Let me know what you think

